NEW BOOK! Vicennial 20 Years Into the Night from GothicChicago!

Support SpookyInc - Buy our bookVICENNIAL – INTO THE NIGHT
A Book by DavidB and JameyB

46 PAGES | 20 YEARS
GothicChicago Calendars – Events – Photos


Born out of frustration with being seated in the back of a restaurant because we looked too “Goth” (aka “weird”) – we decided to share Goth-friendly locations and events in Chicago and eventually worldwide online.  The scene has grown – Goth is in the malls, Cosplay is all the rage and the world is a little smaller (and more wonderful) due to social media.  To celebrate 20 years of spooky stuff for spooky people, this 46 page, full colour book shares highlights from 1996-2016.

Get your copy today!

Celebrate with us by posting your memories with #SpookyInc20

Advertisements

Posted October 31, 2016 by si in #SpookyInc20, Downloads, everywhere, Photographs, Shopping, SpookyInc

Oct 21 – Hardcore Hearse Club at the Downtown Chicago Halloween Parade (Chicago)

In its 3rd year, the Chicago Halloween Parade plans on making this the largest Halloween Parade in the World. Last year there were over 250,000 people in attendance. Organizers tell us that Hardcore Hearse Club was one of the most favorite elements of the parade, which is very flattering considering some of the floats and participants that we saw were nothing short of spectacular! We are inviting YOU to Join us as a walker in the parade along side Hardcore Hearse Club. Dress in your most creative costume and come out to join us. It will be a fantastic time!
6:00 P.M. – 8:00 P.M. – THE HALLOWEEN GATHERING PARADE IS CURATED SHOWCASE OF CHICAGO’S CREATIVE COMMUNITIES. BEGINNING AT 6:00 PM, THE PARADE TRAVELS NORTH ON S. COLUMBUS DR. BEGINNING AT E. BALBO AVE. AND ENDS AT E. MONROE ST.

All hearses must be pre registered and paperwork submitted.

Posted October 18, 2017 by si in Entertainment, Events, Personalities, Shopping

Oct 20 – Harry Potter Festival (Jefferson, WI)

This fun and family friendly event is spread throughout the City of Jefferson, WI. Wristband are necessary for admission to most venues and to be able to ride the shuttle busses. Wristbands are $15.00 for kids ages 3-12 and $25.00 for those 13 years old and older.This fun and family friendly event is spread throughout the City of Jefferson, WI. Wristband are necessary for admission to most venues and to be able to ride the shuttle busses. Wristbands are $15.00 for kids ages 3-12 and $25.00 for those 13 years old and older. The event kicks off Friday night at 6:30pm with a lighted parade and HP movies at the drive-in theatre at the Highway 18 Outdoor Theatre. All venues are open Saturday and Sunday from 8am-4pm with additional activities in the evening.

Posted October 16, 2017 by si in Entertainment, Events, Shopping

TMC – DRACULA – SUNDAYS IN OCTOBER

Perhaps the most sinister – and erotic – of all movie monsters is Count Dracula, who has been haunting the public imagination since Bram Stoker published his Gothic horror novel Dracula in 1897. Join TCM as we celebrate the fanged fiend who established the vampire myth and popularized it on the screen. Our fest spans films from five decades and begins with the seminal 1931 Dracula, directed by Tod Browning for Universal Pictures and starring the actor most people still associate with the Transylvania terror, Bela Lugosi.

Completing a trilogy of classic Universal vampire tales are two offspring: Gloria Holden in the title role of Dracula’s Daughter (1936) and Lon Chaney, Jr. as Son of Dracula (1943). House of Dracula (1945) teams the legendary vampire (played by John Carradine) with Universal’s other two popular monsters, the Frankenstein Monster (Glenn Strange) and the Wolf Man (Lon Chaney Jr.). United Artists’ The Return of Dracula (1958) is set in contemporary California, where the Count arrives in the form of an artist named Francis Lederer.

Horror of Dracula (1958) is the first of the British Hammer Horror films with Christopher Lee’s chilling interpretation of the vampire. The Brides of Dracula (1960) is also from Hammer, and although Dracula himself does not appear in the film, Peter Cushing reprises his role as Van Helsing. Lee returns in all his bloody glory in the title role of Hammer’s Dracula, Prince of Darkness (1966). John Carradine, in turn, reprises his role as Dracula in the fanciful Billy the Kid vs. Dracula (1966), a low budget American horror-Western in which the vampire attempts to steal the fiancée of the famous outlaw (Chuck Courtney).

Christopher Lee has his third outing as the Count in Hammer’s Dracula Has Risen from the Grave (1968), in which Dracula is once again destroyed – although Lee would return in the role for six more movies, including Taste the Blood of Dracula (1970) and Dracula A.D. 1972 (1972).

Posted October 13, 2017 by si in Entertainment

Carrie Monster’s Horror Hop (Chicago)

celebrate the spooky season at CarrieMonster’s first annual Halloween Horror Hop!

With spooktacular musical acts…

The undead sons of Appalachia, The Pretty Boys Of Horror Punk!
THE BIG BAD and their debut Chicago performance!

Chicago’s hauntingly dark and evil
SINISTER FATE

Chicagolands favorite undead hillbillies
HILLBILLY LIARS 

Scaring the good people of the windy city
SHOCK THEATRE

Horror Burlesque by the hauntingly beautiful BARB WIRE & feinds

Monster musical stylings of
QUEEN COCKBLOCK

And a ZOMBIE PINUP CONTEST!

All this for $10!

8pm til 3am!
21 & over please

It’s going to be THE don’t miss SPOOKTACULAR of the season!

Posted October 11, 2017 by si in Entertainment, Events, Music, Personalities, Photographs

Subscribe to the The Nocturnal Reader’s Box

An Adult Book Subscription Box for Fans of Horror, Sci-Fi, and dark thrillers.

We are a monthly subscription service that specializes in bringing our customers new and exciting books from well established authors, to lesser known ones. We curate our merchandise to keep with the theme of the book of the month. So not only will you be receiving a newly released novel, but you will also receive a recommended previously released one (NOT USED), a high quality print, a new bookmark, and a few other goodies that we have put together for you. The designs of these items will not be found anywhere but here! We even have a few connections with authors which means a lucky predetermined amount will also be receiving signed books. If that is not exciting enough for you, we have also partnered with several other manufacturers to bring you a total value of $60+ per box, all for one low price!

Do NOT expect for this box to contain young adult books, romance novels, glittery trinkets…or glittery Vampires.

Posted October 9, 2017 by si in Shopping

Oct 15 – Grave Robbing 101 (Chicago)

When the area now known as Lincoln Park was City Cemetery during the 1840s to 1860s, it was a regular smorgasbord for grave robbers — medical schools tended to have a “no questions asked” policy, and a fresh cadaver could pay as much as a month in the coal mines.

Author and tour guide Adam Selzer leads “pupils” on a walking tour of Lincoln Park, showing relics of the old cemetery, a tomb snooping demonstration, and repeating stories and quotes from the archives about all of the body snatching that took place on the grounds — featuring enough tricks of the trade to launch your very own career. Humorous, entertaining, and educational as all get out.

DETAILS

The event will run rain or shine.
Meet outside the Chicago History Museum on North and Clark. Look for the guy with the clipboard outside the cafe.
The tour is approximately 2 miles.
This tour is family friendly but parents have to keep an eye on their kids.
The event has limited ADA access. Pavement will be available, but we might also be walking off the path in the grass.
Wear your walking shoes and bring your cameras!
Street metered parking is available around the museum and at the Museum Parking lot located one block north of the Museum at Clark and LaSalle Streets.
This ticket is non-refundable, but you can transfer it by following this handy Eventbrite tutorial.

About Field Agent Adam Selzer
Adam Selzer is the author of several Chicago history books, including the upcoming Mysterious Chicago: History at its Coolest, and Just Kill Me, a recent novel about a ghost tour guide who makes places more haunted by killing people there. Over the years he’s run ghost tours, riverboat architecture tours, grave robbing tours, and more, and has practically lived in the newspaper archives. Ask him about the 1893 article about a woman dressed in mourning who asked a guy to come into Graceland with her to “comfort” her, then robbed him.

Questions?
Email adam.selzer@atlasobscura.com.

Stay connected! Subscribe to the Illinois Obscura Society newsletter and like our Facebook page for a first glimpse at upcoming events.

Advance ticket sales only. All ticket sales are final. No refunds or exchanges.

Posted October 6, 2017 by si in Entertainment, Events

Oct 6 – INTERVIEW WITH THE VAMPIRE ! (Seattle)

Eldergoth Central invites you to join us for a night of undead fun at Campout Cinema! Our own Rhias Hall will be introducing the film and leading pre-show discussion about vampire cinema.

At Campout Cinema, MoPOP invites you to get comfy and relax under LED stars on blankets, pillows, cushions, and sleeping bags from home (no chairs please). With themed drinks and photo ops before the screening and during intermission—as well as trivia, giveaways, and other surprises—every Campout Cinema event offers a unique and super themed movie-going experience.

Posted October 4, 2017 by si in Entertainment, Events

%d bloggers like this: